Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

What would you do?

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2012 at 4:28 PM
  • 7 Replies
I am expecting ds2 in march. I am hs ds1 who is about to turn 5. My state doesn't require a child
to be in school until they are 6 by oct 1 so that gives us this year and next year before we have to worry about any legal requirements. Since this is my first year with homeschooling and my ds1 is special needs I feel a lot of pressure to do what is best for him. I am trying to get ahead in our curriculum so we can take a few weeks off once my lo arrives, but I'm not sure if we will be able to get ahead. I think it's just in my head that we really need to worry about staying up to date with our program. What do u think.?
by on Jan. 27, 2012 at 4:28 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
bmw29
by Member on Jan. 27, 2012 at 4:30 PM
1 mom liked this
I wouldn't worry about it. He's young and you have plenty of time. Just talk to him a bunch and play when you can and he'll learn.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
oredeb
by on Jan. 27, 2012 at 5:20 PM

hi jjmill!!!

why do you need to be ahead? your hsing now so there shouldnt be anyone your answering to? thats what hsing is going at yours and your childrens own pace, you setting the pace or letting the kids set the pace,  and if you want to take off a month or 2 go for it!!! everything will still be there!

just like bmw20 suggested!! the kids are always learning even if we arent using books and worksheets!!! yea!!!

mem82
by Platinum Member on Jan. 27, 2012 at 6:29 PM

This! There is plenty of time. 8)

Quoting bmw29:

I wouldn't worry about it. He's young and you have plenty of time. Just talk to him a bunch and play when you can and he'll learn.

Boobah
by Nikki :) on Jan. 28, 2012 at 9:45 AM