Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Did you give your child an option?

Posted by   + Show Post

When you decided to homeschool, did you give your child any say in if they were homeschooled or not?  I was talking to a few friends that went with the homeschooling option, and when their kids were old enough, they allowed them to decide if they stuck with homeschool or went to public school... what do you think your kids would decide?

by on Feb. 13, 2012 at 5:26 AM
Replies (21-29):
ballerina.2006
by on Feb. 13, 2012 at 11:51 PM
Nope. She was told she would never go to a "normal" school (shes in K). I moved to my area in 8th grade and feel like the PS's here failed me. I was a great student, grades were amazing until we moved here. By middle school for my youngest brother my parents finally pulled him to HS. My youngest sis goes to an alternative highschool. (My other two siblings either graduated early or HS only for 1-2yrs in highschool.I was never HS)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Knightquester
by Bronze Member on Feb. 14, 2012 at 12:36 AM

My children have that option.  All four have decided to stay  homeschooled for their own reasons which I respect.  They don't dislike or hate public school, and all but one have been.

One of my children learns math differently then the public school teaches, she now loves math and excels in it.  One is two grade levels ahead of her peers and just wants to learn at her own pace w/o being held back.  One is slightly dyslexic but because of homeschooling you would hardly know it, she is confident and is advanced in her grade.  My youngest, the only one that has never been to public school, heard how many hours kids go to school and wanted no part of it.  He's the type that likes to lie on his belly and finish his work so he can go off and do his own thing.

sprout18
by on Feb. 14, 2012 at 8:27 AM