Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

hi my name is sunflower and im new to homeschooling

Posted by on Feb. 28, 2012 at 3:02 PM
  • 7 Replies

hi everyone, due to illness my son has missed five weeks of school and had surgery yesterday so he will be recovering for another few weeks and i have decided to homeschool him the rest of the year due to him being in danger of failing seventh grade. im not sure how to get started, the board of education in my district says i cant withdraw him until i have a set ciriculum and i am on such a tight buget i cant afford materials, i thought i could print out free worksheets on the internet and get ideas at the library but have no idea how to get a set ciriculum. also im not sure of the requirements for seventh grade....im feeling parentlychallenged at the moment and need assistance asap due to the school breathing down my neck about his work which im at a loss as how to do without a teachers guide. please help

by on Feb. 28, 2012 at 3:02 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
usmom3
by BJ on Feb. 28, 2012 at 3:18 PM
1 mom liked this

Welcome to the group Sunflower. Do you know the laws for your state? Is the school board your only source of information about homeschooling? If yes, realize most school districts are ignorant of the actual laws for homeschoolers & will push you to followthe schools rules & not the actual laws of the state. As far as curiculem goes there are all kinds to chose from even online public schools. Have you looked to see if on line public schools are free in your state? Sense you probably intend on him going back to public school next year that might be the best bet for you!

oredeb
by on Feb. 28, 2012 at 3:56 PM
1 mom liked this

what state are you in? look up your homeschool law, dont always believe what the school tells you!