Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Recordkeeping

Posted by on Mar. 1, 2012 at 8:20 PM
  • 5 Replies
Any tips/strategies? What records do you keep?

Is it important to keep records in the early years if you are in a state that isn't highly regulated? How does a senior get a transcript?

Thx!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 1, 2012 at 8:20 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
wright1212
by on Mar. 2, 2012 at 7:40 AM
This is my first year. But I am keeping everything until we finish this grade, then sort and purge only keeping VIPs. I make dd a weekly checklist of activities, I like have that as a record. For my ds I have a log of which activities we do and notes on how well he did, it was so daunting and no one cares to see it that I don't see the point.
sha_lyn68
by Bronze Member on Mar. 2, 2012 at 11:58 AM

I used to say that keeping detailed records for the lower grades wasn't necessasary if not required by the laws where you live, but I've change my mind. There are several reasons why for me it makes sense:

It is good practice/gets the habit going in the beginning. It also give you time to find what works for you.

Also the records could be vital if the homeschooling was every challenged IE non-custodial parent insisting the kids go to school (I've known several mother's whose husbands were onboard with HS'ing unti a divorce then suddenly the fathers decide the mothers are incompetent and the children feral).

As for Srs having a transcript, you have to make it.