Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

year round homeschooling need help

Posted by on Mar. 4, 2012 at 11:05 PM
  • 16 Replies
Hi there, I plan on homeschooling year round this is my first year officially. So my question is how do you do it? Do you go through material much faster or slower? Do you take for instance Dec off? What advice can you give me for homeschooling year round including plaining. Thanks ladies in advance. I appreciate the help.

twin girls

by on Mar. 4, 2012 at 11:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
blue52
by on Mar. 4, 2012 at 11:29 PM

My easiest advice would be to make your own schedule. Take a calendar and mark what time off you want for Holidays and vacations... Plan a few weeks of schooling at a time. If you miss a day you can just pick right back up a day or so later. Oh depending on your state guidelines just make sure you dont have a requirement of having your schooling completed by a certain time every year...Good Luck.

BLUE

5BMom
by on Mar. 4, 2012 at 11:49 PM
We school year round. We take off the third week of June, July, August, and September for camping trips. We take off Jan 1st, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas Eve and Day. Other than that, we set weekly goals and get things done when we get them done. We don't follow set days or times with in the week. This gives us real flexibility... for field trips, sick days, Super Tuesday this week, lol...
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
gacgbaker
by on Mar. 5, 2012 at 6:00 AM

I don't have much experience with homeschooling, I'm still learning the ropes and deciding if it's for us- but maybe if you are doing it all year round you could take more time for little 'detours' and include more information on topics you want to cover.  It sounds like a good idea to plan out your schd. and some vacation time.  Hope it all goes well!

Prahl