Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

homeschooling curriculum

Posted by on Mar. 12, 2012 at 10:52 PM
  • 16 Replies

i plan on homeschooling my kids but i am having trouble finding if there are any certain guidelines or curriculum. i live in the state of il. plus if any one has any advice it would be helpful. i have never done this before and the only family that i know in my family that does it doesnt teach them anything. plus where is a great place to get textbooks and work books and other books for a good or cheap price and which are better to go with.

by on Mar. 12, 2012 at 10:52 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
IansMommy2012
by on Mar. 12, 2012 at 10:56 PM

I know in OH you have to go through you school district...Every state varies .. Um but you can prolly look up the guidlines online (?) or contact your local office .. That's what my mom did .. She's been homeschooling for 8+years i do believe ... something like that .. And for OH they just require that you have your child evaluated at the end of each "year" by a state tested teacher .. and then for highschool you can have them tested, Mom does the CAT testing, which is the Cali Achievement Test . And then of course there is the ACT . 

As for Curriculum, my mom likes Bob JOnes or Alpha and Omega for the older kids..and we have a few local teacher stores that mom buys stuff for the smaller kids and extra stuff for them to do :) But you can go online, it just depends on if your wanted a christian curriculam or what .. There are soo many out there . :)  Horizon, McGrawHill, Saxton .. You can mix and match tooo .. :) 

IansMommy2012
by on Mar. 12, 2012 at 10:59 PM