Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

i plan on homeschooling my kids but i am having trouble finding if there are any certain guidelines or curriculum. i live in the state of il. plus if any one has any advice it would be helpful. i have never done this before and the only family that i know in my family that does it doesnt teach them anything. plus where is a great place to get textbooks and work books and other books for a good or cheap price and which are better to go with.

by on Mar. 12, 2012 at 10:52 PM
Replies (11-16):
oredeb
by on Mar. 13, 2012 at 6:44 PM

oh great doing all the research before the time!! good idea!! and you know you dont even have to do preschool!

Quoting serenity062011:

well my oldest is about to turn two in a few days and my youngest is 8 months old. and i just like to get stuff ready and get research in before it fully comes to time and I am about to start preschooling my oldest.

Quoting oredeb:

look up your state law here http://www.homeschoollegaladvantage.com/resources/homeschool-laws-by-state

how old are your kids?

serenity062011
by on Mar. 13, 2012 at 6:46 PM

I figured it might help get things started. what age do people normally start kindergarten? age 5?

Quoting oredeb:

oh great doing all the research before the time!! good idea!! and you know you dont even have to do preschool!

Quoting serenity062011:

well my oldest is about to turn two in a few days and my youngest is 8 months old. and i just like to get stuff ready and get research in before it fully comes to time and I am about to start preschooling my oldest.

Quoting oredeb:

look up your state law here http://www.homeschoollegaladvantage.com/resources/homeschool-laws-by-state

how old are your kids?

oredeb
by on Mar. 13, 2012 at 6:50 PM

i think most people do start k at 5, i didnt, i started the kids at differnt ages, depending on what they were ready for