Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I know I have been asking a lot of questions, but, I have another :). My son is in 6th grade and struggles horribly in math. I know I am new at this so maybe someone could give me some advice on ways to teach him. Ways to make him understand how he learns? The stuff he struggles with is elementary stuff like adding, multypling and so on. He uses his fingers for everything. It drives me insane and I do not want him to remember his school days as fighting, screaming and hollering. I want to understand how to teach him. Some advice from you Moms would be great! Thanks!!

by on Apr. 6, 2012 at 4:50 PM
Replies (11-15):
sandylynn1234
by on Apr. 8, 2012 at 8:39 PM

Thank you all GREAT advice!!

kokyuhomama
by on Apr. 9, 2012 at 10:31 AM

I've heard that this is a great program once you determine that it would be a good fit.  I'd check on eBay for used sets.  Everyone here has great suggestions, too!

Quoting Jinx-Troublex3:

Teaching Textbooks is a computer based math. My DS who struggled really likes it.

We also highly recomment Math U See for the basics. Buying the manipulatives makes it a lil expensive to start but its not too expensive and you could get away with only the DVD and student book for the first few books and you may even be able to find it used.

LaurainMT
by on Apr. 10, 2012 at 8:52 PM
1 mom liked this