Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Another unsupporting mom

Posted by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 7:30 PM
  • 15 Replies

The other day, my mom saw the homeschool catalog I had from ChristianBooks.com. She goes into how I shouldn't homeschool, because I'll have to keep up with the younger two children (having a third soon), and I barely keep up with folding laundry. How my aunt tried homeschooling her daughter for a year and it didn't work, and I'd have to follow the state of Ohio's curriculum or standards. Something like that. Of course, an hour or so later, she tells me how amazed she is at what my child knows and is learning. Could it be because I've been homeschooling her for 3 years?

My child is already reading well at 3, knows her shapes, colors, and a wee bit of foreign language. It's not much, but she learned some words in American Sign Language, Mandarin, and Spanish. She is learning to write and do basic math. Right now she is doing a puzzle of the USA and is very good at puzzles. She likes to build with Duplo blocks. She loves learning. So how exactly am I not qualified to homeschool my children?

I looked up the info for homeschooling in Ohio, and I did not find anything that states we must follow state standards or curriculum. Perhaps it is different for formal education in public or private school? BTW, my mom is a certified master teacher and is not much of a fan of homeschooling. However, my dad and my stepmom thinks it's great. :)

by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 7:30 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bugayfamilyof4
by Member on Apr. 15, 2012 at 8:53 PM

Stay strong mama !!! There is always going to be someone uninformed person.

usmom3
by BJ on Apr. 15, 2012 at 9:28 PM
1 mom liked this