Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

9th grader & homeschooling

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out this summer with homeschooling my 15 yr old son.  I realized a few weeks ago he isn't where he should be even with going to a special needs private school these last 2 years.  Therefore,  I'm researching how to set a curriculum directed at improving his reading, writing, comprehension and math.  I was floored when I actually saw how he wasn't working on even a 6th grade level in English.  Yes, I've beaten myself up enough! 

My plan is to start reviewing his elementary skills, then proceed forward until I find where his difficulty starts.  Based on your expereince, please suggest software programs, books, internet sites, etc. that you found successul with your children.  His MAP test scores will be in this week and the school IEP counselor has been helpful.

My son is a high functioning autistic child and therefore, I do have to cater to his nat attention span and other little quirks.  Other than that, he is really a sponge and loves school, sports, video games and girls!!

This is a huge challenge but we both are excited about it.  Anything you can share would be so much appreciated.  Now that the dust has settled and the tears have dried, I'm ready to get started!

Thank you,  Gail

by on Apr. 26, 2012 at 8:17 AM
Replies (11-13):
GHR1952
by on Apr. 29, 2012 at 8:04 AM

ipads

Love this idea!!  He is a techie.  Since ipads are expensive I'll look for a grant for LD kids..  maybe thru his school.. words like: free, reduced, used, or borrowed  could be my middle name. :)  Thanks again for the idea.

KickButtMama
by Shannon on Apr. 29, 2012 at 8:31 AM
1 mom liked this
Quoting GHR1952:

ipads