Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Cottage industries/WAHM

Posted by on Apr. 26, 2012 at 8:59 AM
  • 5 Replies

Reading through the comments on the fulltime mom post, a couple of people mentioned that they or their kids had small businesses they ran out of the home.

I'm a writer, so I get paid for that. And I just accepted a part time job as a slush-pile reader for a small publisher, so there's more money coming in.

Do any of you ladies bring in extra income while you're still at home fulltime?

SusanTheWriter ~ Wife, Mom, Author

by on Apr. 26, 2012 at 8:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
Boobah
by Nikki :) on Apr. 26, 2012 at 9:37 AM
I run an online retail business selling cloth diapers, accessories, kids toys, etc. it's www.nikkislittlehouse.com
I also do custom embroidery for local companies, and sew lots of things and sell them on hyenacart.com. I haven't had much time to do a lot off sewing lately, but that is my passion. I also mod here on cafemom. :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
oredeb
by on Apr. 26, 2012 at 10:02 AM

hi susan, i'd love to be able to write! but well its not something im good at!

but for money i sell soap, bread, plants, beaded jewelry, oh yes and im a mod also on here!

when my kids were younger they had businesses, the usual babysitting business, my son had a rolatilling/lawn business, lots of customers, a lot of them were elderly people, and they paided very well!also there were the ones who couldnt afford to spend much so they'd barter with him, 

the kids had a catering business, they made food for various parties, dinnners for birthdays, anniveraries, funerals, picnics, 

they made music cds and sold them

, and they made hersey kiss bouquets and sold them to all the major grocery stores around oregon and some smaller boutiques, and personal customers