Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

In laws opposing your homeschooling...

Posted by   + Show Post

your takes and/or experiences on this?

by on May. 4, 2012 at 7:14 PM
Replies (31-38):
littleacorn
by on May. 7, 2012 at 5:04 AM
1 mom liked this
This.

Quoting PeaceChild:

MIL has a shit fit no matter what I do, has always questioned everything me and my husband do, so I don't care anymore.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Browncoat4eva
by on May. 7, 2012 at 8:03 AM

inlaws weren't an issue. My family wasn't too kind for a long time. But it's my kid, my life, my choice.

Peace, and all that jazz...

~Mackenzie 

a Browncoat4eva 

...I'm a leaf on the wind. Watch me soar...

firefay
by Member on May. 20, 2012 at 5:38 PM
My mom and older brother are against homeschooling completely. My mom doesn't think we are qualified at all, because neither DH or I have a college degree, and she is a master teacher. She and my brother believe socialization can only happen in a classroom for 8 hours a day five days a week. My dad isn't exactly against it from what I can tell as of today, but he doesn't get how we will do so. None of them want to pay attention to how well my oldest at only 3 has done so far using never set foot in preschool. She's already doing first grade work, thanks to homeschooling unofficially (no records or contacting the school board). Yesterday, my mother actually told us not to other because we wouldn't be able to meet the educational standards initiative signed by I believe 43 states now. My stepmom seems okay with it.

DH stopped talking to his whole family before I met him, so they know nothing about our kids and have no say about anything.
luvinhs
by on May. 21, 2012 at 12:18 PM
2 moms liked this

Well, it is comforting to know that I am not the only one being accused of "henpecking" OR of breastfeeding because I "didn't want to share the baby". LOL