Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Hello I am new here and starting homeschooling very soon

Posted by on May. 8, 2012 at 12:34 AM
  • 7 Replies

Hello. I am a mom here in Albuquerque. I recently moved from Dallas. My daughter is 4, son is 2  and my baby is 7 months. My daughter will not be turning 5 til next year, and she is probably gonna start kindergarten in the fall this year because she has learned so much already I think she's ready for kinder. I am very new to this although I have quite a few friends who homeschool. It is something I have always wanted to do, and now that we moved back to Abq. my husband really wants us to homeschool. The public schools here are horrible. But it reallhy is more our values we want to instruct them in. I know they will not be sheltered from everything, nor do I want them to be. I just want things to be learned on our terms when we think they are ready not some snotty 2nd grader. LOL I could use all the help I can get. I have no idea where to start with curriculum. Right now I am going to be starting up calender time, and she has a workbook for reading and math. It really great. She knows her ABC's, letter sounds, and how to write all her letters. She isn't perfect, but she picks things up really quickly. I know she is ready to start phonics I just don't even know where to begin. So anyways hello and thanks for any advice.

by on May. 8, 2012 at 12:34 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
romacox
by Silver Member on May. 8, 2012 at 5:54 AM

My children are now grown, but I still tutor, give workshops at home school conventions. and workshops to teachers at local colleges.  I get asked a lot of questions like yours, and put together a free web page with most of the common questions at the following   link: How To Home School.

P.S. My specialty is phonics and reading.