Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Just joined and need idea's for science

Posted by on May. 15, 2012 at 9:03 AM
  • 9 Replies

Hey there mom's

I am a mom of 5 kids, 3 of the 5 are grown and on their own or off to college, I have a 17 year old who will be a senior this coming school year and a 4 year old. Don't ask. LOL ha ha ha. But seriously after having had the first 4 so far apart from my youngest child, I have discovered quite a bit about myself, and education within the public schools.  I regret ever stepping foot inside any public school or atleast the one's my kids attended.  I am in search of the best form of education that my money can buy.  I am either going to completely homeschool my youngest or I will let him attend cyber school, and I have been researching all that I find for 2 years now.  I decided to start homeschooling him for now, since he won't even be able to attend cyber school until he's 6 years old, he won't be 5 in time to start this coming year.  I don't wish him to become bored at home and I tried the preschool route, he was completely withdrawn attending that school, and I felt he needed more one on one time which there is no way he'd recieve that in preschool with a ratio of 20:2.  It is a government funded preschool program and the meals and snacks are missing too many key nutrients, and I do have a BS in nutrition science, in my heart of hearts, I couldn't stomach the idea of feeding him the processed prepackaged foods that he got plenty of if he ate what they gave him and they wouldn't allow me to bring his meals, he has always been quite finicky as eaters go, he eats the same three meals every day and he is much improved, he eats mac n cheese, peanut butter and jelly and cereal (none of these is from a typical box, I make the mac n cheese home made, and organic low sugar cereal and chocolate almond butter and agave on whole