Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Balancing Homeschool and "having a life"?

Posted by on May. 22, 2012 at 9:54 AM
  • 18 Replies

Hi.   I'm new to homeschooling and new to this group.   I started homeschooling my 1st grader in april when we pulled him from public school.   Next year I will be doing 2nd grade and Kindergarten and will have a 1  year old as well.

I know all the pros of homeschooling and I want the best for my kids.   But I am REALLY struggling with the whole homeschooling lifestyle.   I always thought my kids would get old enough for school and then I'd work part time, volunteer, and pursue my own interests. Then be back home to spend time with them after school.  I know I can still have my own interestes while homeschooling but it is so much harder.....especially since my husband works long hours and I rarely have anyone to watch my kids so I can go do anything I want to.   I cant commit to anything bc his schedule could change and he wont be home to keep the kids.   And I cant afford a baby sitter for 3 kids very often.

I just wondered if anyone else has this same struggle?

by on May. 22, 2012 at 9:54 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
SusanTheWriter
by on May. 22, 2012 at 10:07 AM
1 mom liked this

Argh. I wrote out a long post and it turned into a 'bump' somehow. Let me see if I can recreate it.

So.

I hear you. My kids have always been in public school, so I've had years of time to myself and my projects. Then my mom moved in with us a little over a year ago. She's partially disabled due to multiple knee surgeries, so I spend a lot of time taking her to and fro to appointments and on her errands. Not to mention, she just generally likes to keep me on my toes.

We moved house a year ago.

We pulled DD out of 9th grade at Easter.