Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

New :)

Posted by on Jun. 26, 2012 at 6:09 PM
Mel
  • 20 Replies

Hi Everyone!!

My name is Mel. I'm a 24yr old SAHM of 3(ds 4yr9mo, dd1 2yr7mo, dd2 3mo) Last year DS attended a K$ program at our local private christian school. We REALLY love the school however DH and I both lost our jobs DH last year, myself this year(the day i had dd2) For financial reasons he won't be able to attend this upcoming year. Just for the book fee i can purchase an entire k5 curriculum for him. I'm also thinking of doing light work for dd1. Very excited and nervous about this upcoming school year :) My mom homeschool me and my 3 younger siblings for 5 years so i have some experience being homeschool just not homeschooling someone else :)

I just don't want to mess up. He's already learned so much from the school he went to. At 4 they can read 3-5 letter words, short and long vowel sounds, write in cursive simple sentences, spell 3 letter words, count and recognize up to 100. I feel like this gives me a little cushion so if i mess up big time he still won't be to far behind. I've started looking up laws for my state and at just a brief glance i'm already confused lol. I don't think i have to do any registering with my city until next year when he turns 6 so that gives me a year to figure it out :)

I'm leaning toward using a beka and konos. Any moms have experience with either of these? thoughts?

Looking forward to meeting and sharing with you ladies 

thank you :)

by on Jun. 26, 2012 at 6:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Boobah
by Nikki :) on Jun. 26, 2012 at 6:45 PM
We are all worried we will mess up at first :) you and he will be great! Welcome to the group!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
melindabelcher
by Mel on Jun. 26, 2012 at 7:39 PM

Thank you! :)

Quoting Boobah: