Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

All About Reading?

Posted by on Jul. 3, 2012 at 11:47 AM
  • 21 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi all,

I am new to all of this. I just graduated from college and am thrilled because this will be my first FULL year home with my children. I have never worked, but I had school anywhere from 3-5 days a week so I was really informal with schooling. 

I want to start working on reading skills with my 4 year old. I have heard great reviews from All About Reading and All About Spelling. I saw on the website they had a pre reading program, and wondered if any of you moms have tried it?

http://www.allaboutlearningpress.com/all-about-reading-level-pre-1-deluxe-package/ 

I know a kit probably is not necessary, but I do like the idea of just being able to grab it and go do a lesson in our spare time. The reviews on the site were all positive, but I love hearing from moms who homeschool. I have a 2 year old also, but since this is just prereading skills I figure he could benefit as well. 

-Lindsey 

by on Jul. 3, 2012 at 11:47 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
oredeb
by on Jul. 3, 2012 at 12:30 PM
1 mom liked this

ive never used it, but it looks good!!(im looking at the first grade stuff)

i like the magnets, and the cd!  they teach like i taught my kids, but i had to make up my own little books and and used refrigerator magnets and index cards

looks good to me! on sale for 99 dollars looks like, expensive, but looks easy to teach, and you can use it on lots of kids! even if you just bought the 28 dollar pkg you could make it work!, you can get an idea of what the teachers manual is about just from the sample if you'd need it or not.

the preschool looks kinda fun also, tells ya step by step what to do