Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I got my notice today after submitting my intent form to homeschool that I am "Permitted to teach my children, Xavier and Malachi, at home this year" OH well thank you for giving me that permission. 

I really think its ridiculous we have to have permission to teach our own children. And that they wouldn't except me as being fit to do so because I graduated as a homeschooled child so instead I had to turn in my Husband's highschool deploma and tell them he was gonna be homeschooling. 

Ok sorry vent over. I just didn't like the way the letter was written I gues!! Grr

by on Jul. 31, 2012 at 12:47 PM
Replies (31-36):
kirbymom
by Sonja on Aug. 1, 2012 at 1:34 PM

Quoting oredeb:

weve never followed our homeschool state law, never told the superintendent we are homeschooling, dont test every other year, or anything else it requires,

thats so weird that they gave you permission! haha i guess they gotta feel like they are in control

That is the absolute truth. 

irvinehiker
by Andrea on Aug. 1, 2012 at 1:36 PM
1 mom liked this

I have read your states hs laws (VA).  I agree with Beth....You NEED to contact HSLDA.  They have clearly violated your states hs laws.  Not just once(when not accepting your currc outline w/out a diploma), but twice when the letter was worded that "you are permitted".  Don't let the super get away with it.  You have to follow the hs laws, and he should too!!!  Best of luck Nora!!

Quoting Bethsunshine:

Quoting NoraDun:

Well according to that they should of accepted the curriculum outline I sent in, but they didn't. They still said I had to send in my deploma. When I couldn't they said I would need to send in my Husbands!

Quoting Bethsunshine:

Quoting NoraDun:

I am in VA. I wish I could say something, I think its wrong I have to be permitted to school my own child!

Quoting Bethsunshine: