Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

My son is 5 and he tells me he wants to learn Spanish for one of his lessons this year. I need advice. I took 5 years of Spanish but I can barely remember anything now. How would you go about teaching a 5y/o another language. Is there any good programs that aren't too expensive.

by on Aug. 21, 2012 at 12:38 AM
Replies (11-19):
JKronrod
by Bronze Member on Aug. 22, 2012 at 10:36 AM

Okay this is my hobby horse, so please forgive the long post.  I've had a lot of experience getting my kids to speak Spanish (and Japanese, but that's another story).  Note that I don't speak Spanish (or Japanese). 

The best -- in fact the only way -- of learning another language at this age (and it's best to start before 5) is by having interaction with a native speaker.  Do NOT attempt to do this yourself if you only learned in high school.  The point is to have the child hear Spanish with a native accent and fluency.  There are a number of ways of doing this.  We've had good luck putting notices at the local college job center "Native Spanish speaker wanted to play with 5-year-old 2-3 times a week."   We also have the advantage of a local "Spanish school" designed for younger children.  We usually pay $10 to $20 per hour, and make it clear that they need to read to the child in Spanish (our local library has a Spanish section) and speak ONLY Spanish to the child, no matter what.  We've also used tutors (more expensive and not as necessary at this age unless you can't find a college student), but it's important that they be native speakers.