Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

New to it all! Any advice?

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 2:39 PM
  • 5 Replies

Hi everyone, I am new to Cafe Mom and to homeschooling. I am super excited to begin this adventure with my daughter. She will be in 2nd grade and I am wondering if anyone can tell me curriculums they loved or hated! There is so much information out there and I am totally overwhelmed! Thank you so much for your thoughts and insites!

Kate

by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 2:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
TxMommyOfBoys
by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 2:51 PM

Are you looking for a bible based type curriculum or standard?

oredeb
by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 3:18 PM

welcome!!!!!!

rod and staff for math, workbook, and lots f manipulatives

no english

and christian liberty 'nature studies' very good little books, spelling books, i guess i like just about every thing they put out!!

handwriting , the portland italic series

abeka has some good history and science

considering gods creation for science is very good and fun

katetheredhead
by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 4:20 PM

I am not particularly averse to Bible curriculum, but for my own sanity I am leaning towards separating school and church. I feel better with the religious instrcution my girls get from church, being responsible for their Bible knowledge really makes me nervous....sorry to babble! Here is a bit more information about Savannah Grace. Sheis 7 years old. She reads at a 7th grade level and her math is at a 5th grade level. She is very interested in hands on science projects. She is a strong writer as well. She does tend to be shy and a big worrier. She is extraordinarily sensitive and an over thinker of sorts. She is probably the most spiritual person in our house :) Thanks so much!

kirbymom
by Sonja on Aug. 23, 2012 at 6:04 PM