Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

What to do when your child's learning style is different from your teaching style.

Posted by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 3:23 PM
  • 8 Replies

Good afternoon, I have a problem, this is my first year homeschooling my dd, she is more of a relaxed doesn't respond well to schedules. She would be a perfect unschooling candidate but I'm unsure about that. I set a schedule and it doesn't work for her. I also have a ds and due to personal reasons I am unable to homeschool him. I want to try to do things during the day when he is in school, but it doesn't seem to work. In an ideal day school would begin at 9 and end at 2 I would like her to have breakfast, do her hygiene, chore and be all ready to begin at 9 to start school. But she will get out of bed at 9 then it takes her some time to settle down and do her routine then begin school. I live in Central Falls, Rhode Island and they have requirements that she has to have at least 5 hours of homeschool a day 5 days a week for 180 days. So what should I do? Also, any information about unschooling would be appreciated, thanks for all the advice.

by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 3:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Bethsunshine
by on Aug. 23, 2012 at 3:30 PM
1 mom liked this

My kids are like that too. If they had their way, they would do nothing but watch TV and play video games all day long. I have a "flexible routine" with them, not a strict schedule. I tried a strict schedule when we first starting homeschooling and we were ALL stressed out. Between my health problems and my oldest son's, we HAVE to be flexible in some areas; otherwise NOTHING will get done.