Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Helping my son.

Posted by on Nov. 8, 2012 at 10:37 PM
  • 13 Replies

I have been helping my son with his work, and I noticed when he is "under pressure" ( doing homework) he has a hard time, but when I play learning games for him he knows what to do and has no problem. When Im teaching him his work should make it like a game or does it have to be serious? I know it may sound dumb but I'm new to this.   =)

by on Nov. 8, 2012 at 10:37 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
usmom3
by BJ on Nov. 8, 2012 at 10:57 PM
2 moms liked this

I believe that all learning should be fun & engaging for the child. So if he dose better with games & play then get creative & let the fun begin.

coala
by Silver Member on Nov. 9, 2012 at 8:16 AM
1 mom liked this

You need to teach to his strengths.  If he learns better from playing games and making it fun then that is what you need to do.  I have one that is very hands on.  I have to make as much available to her so that it can be fun for her.  I have one who thrives with intense one-on-one help and not so much hands on.  Homeschooling is all about doing what works best for each child.

mem82
by Platinum Member on Nov. 9, 2012 at 11:03 AM

Especially when they are young, make if fun. They have plenty of time to do the serious type learning when they are older.

irvinehiker
by Andrea on Nov. 9, 2012 at 11:17 AM

IMO it does not matter how you get there as long as the end result is the same.  There is a lot of research that proves engaging both the right and left brain(as is done with learning games) is a more productive way to learn. 

mem82
by Platinum Member on Nov. 9, 2012 at 11:45 AM

I agree!

Quoting irvinehiker: