Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

1st grade curriculum??

Posted by on Nov. 27, 2012 at 1:16 AM
  • 24 Replies
I'm thinking of homeschooling my 6 yo. A lot of problems with his school. The board of education said I needed to list my curriculum I plan to use. Idk what she means or where to start or how to go about obtaining a curriculum. ??? Any advice? Please??
by on Nov. 27, 2012 at 1:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
krisiehb
by on Nov. 27, 2012 at 6:54 AM

Curriculum is basically the books and lessons you plan on uing to teach your child from.  I dont have a set curriculum right now.  This is my first year homeschooling and I am piecing together materials for a curiculum and it works for my son.  I use hooked on phonics and reading eggs online for reading and language arts.  I use evisions for math and also brainquest workbooks and IXL online.  For science I get books about animals and volcanoes and I also go to studyjam.com.   

Annastacialynn
by Member on Nov. 27, 2012 at 8:03 AM
Double check your state laws for homeschooling as well, to make sure you are covering all your bases.
Angela4boys
by Angela on Nov. 27, 2012 at 8:06 AM
I bought the spectrum curriculum. It's about $60 for the whole year of workbooks, and follows national standard.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
motheroffour186
by Bronze Member on Nov. 27, 2012 at 9:00 AM

What you plan to teach him this year from first day of school to last day of school and how are you going to teach him.

BramblePatch
by on Nov. 27, 2012 at 9:10 AM
You need to chose what you will be using to teach him. This should be per subject. Have you decided on that yet?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
coala
by Silver Member on Nov. 27, 2012 at 9:13 AM