Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

homeschooling certification?

Posted by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 8:05 AM
  • 17 Replies

I'm pretty new to homeschooling.  We are actually officially starting this next week :) .  When we were first talking about it and what we wanted to do and I was asking my husbands' opinion, he was all for it and really the only things he cared about was that we did standardized testing to make sure the boys were where they needed to be, and that we (of course) followed the laws.  

I have read the Montana state Laws over and over again and joined a local homeschool group, and talked to the county superintendent of schools, and filed a letter of intent to homeschool, and done research via blogs etc.  According to EVERYTHING I have read we don't need to get a certification or license to homeschool in Montana.  But people (mostly co-workers) keep insisting that he does.   I even offered to pull up the state law and let him read it himself, but he says he believes me, but I just feel like he is still uncertain. 

Is anyone here from Montana?  Did you ever have to get certification to homeschool in this state?  Do other states require you to get certified?

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 8:05 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
energygirl
by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 8:18 AM