Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

homeschooling certification?

Posted by   + Show Post

I'm pretty new to homeschooling.  We are actually officially starting this next week :) .  When we were first talking about it and what we wanted to do and I was asking my husbands' opinion, he was all for it and really the only things he cared about was that we did standardized testing to make sure the boys were where they needed to be, and that we (of course) followed the laws.  

I have read the Montana state Laws over and over again and joined a local homeschool group, and talked to the county superintendent of schools, and filed a letter of intent to homeschool, and done research via blogs etc.  According to EVERYTHING I have read we don't need to get a certification or license to homeschool in Montana.  But people (mostly co-workers) keep insisting that he does.   I even offered to pull up the state law and let him read it himself, but he says he believes me, but I just feel like he is still uncertain. 

Is anyone here from Montana?  Did you ever have to get certification to homeschool in this state?  Do other states require you to get certified?

by on Jan. 19, 2013 at 8:05 AM
Replies (11-17):
sweetserenit292
by Member on Jan. 20, 2013 at 2:55 PM
1 mom liked this

I live in Montana and the only thing you need to do is file a letter of intent ant that isn't until age 7, meet the hours required per grade and keep an  immunizations record / or exemption letter of vaccines. 

paris2lmp
by on Jan. 20, 2013 at 3:24 PM

awesome....thanks.  Where in Montana are you?  We are in Great Falls.  We joined the local homeschooling group, but I'm always interested in meeting and getting together, or even just chatting with other homeschoolers.  let me know if you are interested!

Quoting sweetserenit292: