Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Unschooling?

Posted by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:20 AM
  • 29 Replies

I am new to the homeschool world, and keep seeing the word unschooling... was wondering what it was. and how it is done. Thanks!

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mommy2Emmau
by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:29 AM
Basically no structure and the kids learn what they want, when they want, how they want. I personally can't see it working well... LoL At least not for my kid. We do a curriculum but rather than just talking and explaining and doing seat work, I make it as hands on and active as possible for dd. Like writing our letters in shaving cream on the bathtub wall or finger painting them. She retains things better that way and then has more patience when it is time to sit with pencil and paper. : )
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Boobah
by Nikki :) on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:53 AM
3 moms liked this
I would ask someone who actually unschools to.get a good definition. I can tell you the above isnt true. Lol!
We started off classical/charlotte mason, went more charlotte mason, and are now waldorf which has an unschool feel to it.
You learn through living, and provide opportunities for learning that arent just "here is a textbook and workbook". When a child is interested in something, they retain it better, and you c an help by providing materials and opportunities for them to further their knowledge.
I will let an unschooler help me explain :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Boobah
by Nikki :) on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:55 AM
1 mom liked this