Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I am new to the homeschool world, and keep seeing the word unschooling... was wondering what it was. and how it is done. Thanks!

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:20 AM
Replies (21-29):
Proud2BWeird
by Member on Jan. 23, 2013 at 12:26 PM
1 mom liked this
Oh, I'm certainly smart enough, but you're the one who made the claim. Surely you're smart enough to know the onus is on you.

Quoting ms-superwoman:

I am mobile so I can't post any links. I was required to write a ten page paper on the subject for a psychology class. I thought it was a really cool idea, until I started looking into it. I am sure you are smart enough to do a simple search.

Quoting Proud2BWeird:

Again, links. This seems to be just your opinion, and not actually based on facts.

Quoting ms-superwoman:

You would be the exception not the rule. While I know that some parents put in the time and energy, most do not.

Quoting irvinehiker:

I'm sorry, but this is not true.  I don't force, manipulate and try to fit them into a certain mold.  I facilitate learning.  I do not "let them do whatever they want".  They set goals, have chores, and actively participate in our home.  If I had a child who was having a hard time reading I would find a way to facilitate that skill, I would never just accept that they weren't going to learn.  As someone who has used boxed curriculum and now unschools, I will say unschooling is NOT sitting back and doing nothing.  In a lot of ways things were easier (for me anyway) when I had a lesson plan written out for us.  It was so much easier knowing what was suppose to happen in the day and just following a plan.  My kids don't learn best that way, so I have to use what works for them.  

Quoting ms-superwoman: