Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I am new to the homeschool world, and keep seeing the word unschooling... was wondering what it was. and how it is done. Thanks!

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 11:20 AM
Replies (11-20):
usmom3
by BJ on Jan. 22, 2013 at 3:26 PM
1 mom liked this

Most unschooling parents (myself included) consider themselves a facilitator (one that facilitates; especially: one that helps to bring about an outcome (as learning, productivity, or communication) by providing indirect or unobtrusive assistance, guidance, or supervision). We provide our children with tools, materials & encourage them to learn & discover. It is not a hands off style it is actually more hands on then other forms of homeschooling because the parents have to be willing to help in any way the child needs them to to pursue there goals. We just don't push them to learn specific things!

Quoting ms-superwoman:

It is where parents don't school their children. They don't make them learn and basically let them do whatever they want. The idea is that kids learn on their own and if they want to learn about something, they will do it themselves. If they don't so be it, they wont learn it.

irvinehiker
by Andrea on Jan. 22, 2013 at 3:31 PM

Thank you for putting unschooling in a positive light.  :)

Quoting Boobah:

I have to say, I thought "ummm... No" when I first started homeschooling. The more I learn about it, and the more I see how traditional schooling isnt working for my kids, I see how beneficial unschooling is. I was public schooled, but I am an unschooler by nature. When something interests me, I tend to teach myself about it by reading, researching, talking to people who know about it, etc :)

irvinehiker
by Andrea on Jan. 22, 2013 at 3:47 PM
1 mom liked this