Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

My Intro and a Question (PIOG)

Posted by on Feb. 11, 2013 at 11:23 PM
  • 15 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi everyone and thanks for letting me join this board. I joined two other home school groups today and am putting basically the same message so forgive me if some of you are in the other ones as well. :)

This is my first year home schooling. I am a stepmom to three boys - 16, 9 and 7 - and a mom to a three year old boy. We have my stepsons 60/40, which means they are with us Monday through Wednesday, their mom Thursday and Friday, and then we alternate weekends. I arrange all the home school curriculum and homework, their mom follows up on her two days. It's a different arrangement. We are Jehovah's Witnesses and so I try to incorporate a lot of Christian home schooling on our days. We do Bible reading and memorization, family study out of various resource books, and other Bible activities.

Right now I am struggling because the two main reasons we pulled them from school were so they could catch up (they were in the worst school system in our state at their mom's house) and so that they would enjoy school more. The first is happening, but no one seems excited by any home school subjects.

I think I am TOO organized. I have lesson plans planned out two weeks in advance and there really isn't a lot of wiggle room in our schedule.

What do y'all do to keep your kids engaged and interested? What kind of projects do you use to incorporate a few of their subjects together?

I'd be happy to list what books I use. The main ones are A Beka math, Hooked on Phonics (for the 3yo and 7yo), and some "Daily" books for English by Evan Moor publishing.