Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Question about SC Homeschooling

Posted by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:09 AM
  • 8 Replies

HI! I need some advice. I am new to homeschooling. I live in SC and I was thinking about going through SC connection academy. My dd is in her local public school. There is been nothing but problems. The work is so behind what she is use to. How can go around using the public home school option and just make my own lesson plans? How do I get started? I don't care for all the state standardize testing. She is currently in her 3rd quarter at school and I will be withdrawing her to be home-schooled the remainder of the year. Any help would be appreciated.Thank you

by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:09 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
wunderwifey
by on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:30 AM

The SC law is written really wacky. But look into 3rd Option Homeschooling. Its the one we will be doing. (there are a few other SC moms on here too.) You'll have to notify the district that you're pulling her out. But they don't have to approve of your curriculum unless you go with the connections academy (option 1 under the law). Get with one of the accountability associations in your area (or one of the state-wide ones). Google has been my best friend in this whole thing.

AutymsMommy
by Silver Member on Feb. 13, 2013 at 8:40 AM

If you go through the state virtual options (K12, Connections, Calvert) you CANNOT make your own plans; you have to use theirs, you are on their schedule, and you are required to do the standardized tests. You are still considered a public school family, not a homeschool family. This is considered "first option".