Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am trying to create a coop I'm very new and me all the advice and help you can give

Posted by   + Show Post

What kinda things do you guys doing your coops? What kind of things that works for you or have you seen you liked? Activities? Outings?

I'm very very new at all of this but the current coop in my area want almost 300 dollars for people toto participate and that's just for 6 months and they only meet together 1 time a month and frankly that's just too much as far as I'm concerned I'm planning on creating a new 1 so that people don't have to spend an arm a leg just for the children to socialize and have a chance to learn jointly on some things..
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 14, 2013 at 10:20 AM
Replies (21-22):
Knightquester
by Bronze Member on Feb. 15, 2013 at 10:39 PM

$300 for 6 months and only once a month, wow that's a rip-off.  My co-op is $8 for a year and they do all kinds of meet-ups, classes, and events.

The co-op we're in started off small and will turn two years old this March.  When it first started out it started with one mom posting the outings she was planning to do with her children.  When she went to the park, she posted, when she made a trip to a certain museum, she posted and so people joined her and the group grew to know each other

As our group grew the founder handed over some of the planning for certain age brackets or things to a few set members that were very active in the group.  Not only that but anybody can set up a meet-up in the group and plan it, so that we tend to have a full schedule in any given month.  Some members are very active and at nearly all the events, some are less active.