Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New to group and homeschool

Posted by on Feb. 20, 2013 at 10:44 AM
  • 9 Replies

hello, I am Christina I have a 4 yo and 9 month old DD who we have decided to homeschool. Since I am brand new to this I would love any suggestions and ideas of where to start. My 4yo Lucy is already off to a great start with her alphabet, writing her letters and counting. She is very independent and works on her workbooks and starfall.com on her own. We live in Northern Nevada and am excited to get to know you all and share ideas! 

by on Feb. 20, 2013 at 10:44 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
oredeb
by debbie on Feb. 20, 2013 at 11:01 AM
1 mom liked this

welcome christina!!! great decision you've both made!!!!

sounds like lucy is having some fun learning!! yea!!

one thing i also do with my younger kids is arts and crafts lots of em! they learn so much doing them, they start pretty young, as soon as they can hold a crayon! its seems to help them when they learn how to do handwriting also, we also do memorizing, learning songs, dancing, playing, i always read to them(even when they are older!) we love to go outside and draw(to the best of our ability!) bugs, trees, the sky, grass, etc, they paint, with fingers and paint brushes, love mixing up food in the bowls and kneeding bread, lots of hands on stuff!

BramblePatch
by Bronze Member on Feb. 20, 2013 at 2:22 PM
1 mom liked this
WELCOME!!!!!

First, check with the www.hslda.org for your State Laws. Are you in northwest or northeast Nevada? I am not all that far from the Idaho Nevada Border :-)

My 4 year old is loving the Memoria Press Jr. Kindergarten program. Its a lot of fun and worth a look.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
usmom3
by BJ on Feb. 20, 2013 at 2:39 PM

Welcome!

blueyedbaker
by on Feb. 20, 2013 at 3:36 PM
1 mom liked this