Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

I have been homeschooling for 5 years (three kids) and have a pretty good handle on things, except the one area where we are lacking is science. I've never been able to find a program I love and it's always just been kind of a hodgepodge.

The last few years we'd just do random unit studies - solar system, plants, whatever - and do a few activities, read a few books. This year I bought 'Christian Kids Explore Biology,' which is just okay. We are Christian but we aren't literal-6000-years-old-earth-humans-coexisted-with-dinosaurs-carbon-dating-is-nonsense type Christians when it comes to science. :) So a Biblical basis (God created the world) is fine, but this textbook goes a bit far sometimes. Also I am homeschooling a kindergartener, first grader, and fourth grader, and I'd like to use the same thing for everyone (of course adding more challenging work for the 4th grader - vocab, worksheets, whatever).

I am looking at getting a microscope and slides but that may have to wait til my summer purchases and go toward next year.

Our library has a small number of Magic School Bus DVDs but often, they will not play because they are old and scratched. The kids don't like them much anyway.

We try watching Bill Nye videos on youtube but most of them are such poor quality we can't stand to watch very long. 

We do gardening big time, so they know all about plants, terminology, composting, worms, pollination, etc. We did a long unit on solar system last year and a long one on dinosaurs the year before. But I feel like it's not nearly enough.

I'd love to hear suggestions of what you use, especially if you are homeschooling multiple ages and using the same thing for everyone. 

Thanks in advance!

by on Feb. 22, 2013 at 10:24 AM
Replies (11-19):
Kerseygeek
by Member on Feb. 23, 2013 at 10:26 AM