Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

new here

Posted by on Mar. 11, 2013 at 9:52 PM
  • 12 Replies

i am new to this site and have been looking for like minded moms for a while now. i have been thnking alot about home schooling my daughter for the past 6 months. the big issue i'm coming across is push back from my ex. he thinks it'll make our daughter weird or lacking in social skills. i know a few people who are very well adjusted and they were home schooled. i need help getting it started now while she's 3 and figure out how to do it and make my arguement for homeschooling. 

i look forward to making new friends for myselfand my daughter. i live in dover, de. anyone with advice i would love to hear from you. 

thanks kerrin

by on Mar. 11, 2013 at 9:52 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
gacgbaker
by on Mar. 11, 2013 at 10:15 PM

Welcome!  It seems like socialization is the argument I hear most often- even a teenager I was talking to about our kids homeschooling used that argument- but it just simply doesn't hold water as long as you make an effort to have your kids involved with other kids.  You can do that at the library with many free programs, in a co-op, sports, church- there are a ton of options!  I'd recommend putting together a 'socialization' game plan to show how you plan to make sure you guys are involved in things outside the home and see how that goes over.  A lot of times, I think homeschool kids have more 'social interaction' with kids then most.  School isn't really about socialization, IMO.  They really are not even supposed to talk other then a 30 minute lunch and a few short recess times.  ;)

thistlemoon69
by on Mar. 11, 2013 at 10:34 PM