Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms
Do you keep your child at one grade level for everything or differentiate depending on his/ her level? Also do you stay on the grade all year or move up when your child is ready even if it's the middle of the year?

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 12:21 PM
Replies (11-20):
Rust.n.Gears
by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 1:23 PM
1 mom liked this
We don't use grade levels. I let them go at their own pace which is always ahead of their grade.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
wunderwifey
by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 5:02 PM
What did you use to test him? I've seen a test for some of the big boxed curriculums but no general tests to get a general idea for any curriculum I choose.

Quoting QueenCreole313:

This is my first year homeschooling, but I have quickly learned that grade levels are man-made tools used to compare children. It can be used as a source of competition. I did some review with my son when we first started our home academy. He is 10. He is at a 3rd "grade level" for math and an 8th "grade level" for reading comprehension. He is also "advanced" in science. I love that I am able to follow is lead without frustating him or myself. We advance each day. I am not too concerne with him being "behind" in math. Everyday he is learning something new and stregnthen his skills in all subjects. This is all that matters in our eyes.

QueenCreole313
by on Mar. 25, 2013 at 5:43 PM
2 moms liked this

Quoting wunderwifey:

What did you use to test him? I've seen a test for some of the big boxed curriculums but no general tests to get a general idea for any curriculum I choose.

Quoting QueenCreole313: