Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Is it a good idea to homeschool a 10 yr old with ADHD?

Posted by on Apr. 1, 2013 at 6:57 PM
  • 14 Replies

Hello I'm new to cafemom I'm a mother of 3 and what lead me hear is one of my son's he's 10 yrs old he's in 5th grade he has ADHD he takes medication and he also has a LD in reading. I had my son in public school for the past 4 yrs this year I decided to put him on a private school due to the low grades and problems I've been having in the school he has an IEP but due to the fact that it's a private school I just found out that they don't need to go by it. The issue I'm having is that there is 5 kids in the class and he doesn't finish work his grades are D and F they're not even working on goals of the IEP when I went to the school to find out what is the problem inclusively I asked if my son was focusing the teacher tells me there is no problem it's just that your son is not doing his best my son is very shy and he's giving up in school I wanted to know if it was a good option in homeschooling him and what does this imply to me and my son Please if you are reading this if you can put your experiences or advice I really appreciate it I don't know where else to turn.

by on Apr. 1, 2013 at 6:57 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
klatshaw
by on Apr. 1, 2013 at 7:09 PM

My son had an IEP, also, for comprehension issues and for working at a slower pace than others. Since homeschooling I have seen a remarkable change in him and his attitude towards learning.