Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Leapfrog Tag, or other learn to read suggestions

Posted by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 12:55 AM
  • 11 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi, all. Has anyone used the Leapfrog Tag system to teach your child to read? Is it good? Anybody have any other suggestions on how I can teach my son to read? Thanks for your experienced advice!

by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 12:55 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
romacox
by Silver Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 6:05 AM
1 mom liked this

Having had experience in home school and in public school, I have found that computer games are good, but not when it comes to teaching phonics.  They teach some of the phonic sounds  incorrectly making it hard for many children to learn to blend the sounds to form words.  Most of the children given to me to help (I am a tutor), have this problem.  For example: if they pronounce the H sound as Hu, and the P sound as Pu, they sound out the word happy as hu-a-pu-y,   It is very important that you, the educator, teach the phonic sounds so that you are sure they are pronouncing them correctly. It prevents problems down the road.... Hear Phonic Sounds Free.

Ring Around The Phonics is all I use to teach reading and phonics (it comes with 14 early reader books), But I also use it to teach comprehension, listening skills, communication skills, vocabulary, spelling,.....many other language arts subjects (4 years old through 6th grade).  It is learning disguised as a game, and the kids beg to play.  They love the activities, and crowning their characture with the blue and gold rings of knowledge.  So I recommend Ring Around The Phonics.

klatshaw
by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 7:27 AM

My son uses teh Tag books. He loves them! I don't thinbk that he is learning to read, though, as much as he is memorizing the words. 

motheroffour186