Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Homeschooling for the first time

Posted by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 5:54 PM
  • 13 Replies
Hello everyone I want to know a little more about how to make the right choice when it comes to choosing a curriculum to homeschool my son he is going to be in 6th grade and he's 11 yrs. He has a LD in reading and ADHD which means I need something that would be in his level and that he will be patient with because he gets frustrated easily I'm new at this (homeschooling) and really need all the info not just curriculum if you can also share ideas and tips to make there learning fun and how to save money please post them by the way has anyone heard of k12 please let me know what you know about
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Apr. 15, 2013 at 5:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
romacox
by Silver Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 6:11 PM
1 mom liked this

My children are now grown, but I still do home school workshops, and I am a reading tutor (K through 6th grade). I am given many children with ADHD, and who are having trouble reading.  My method has been so successful at helping children to read, that three college professors at the University Of North Florida  now ask me to teach their students what I do.  It is really very simple...anyone can do it.  Following are some things to help you help your son

• the following video explains the most common cause of children having problems reading.  I have found this common from K through 6th grade.   It is probably even higher, but I don't tutor above 6th.  I wish I could stress how important this is, and how easy it is to solve.  Nine times out of ten, this is all that is necessary to get a child reading at or above grade level.

romacox
by Silver Member on Apr. 15, 2013 at 6:15 PM