Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

How much importance do you put on handwriting?

Posted by on May. 13, 2013 at 9:52 AM
  • 29 Replies

My sister has her kiddos in public school. One is in K and the other in 2nd grade. The one in K is learning to recognize and write upper and lower case letters. The one in 2nd grade still writes in print but with an emphasis on spacing and sizing of the text. When I asked if he was learning cursive, she told me that they go over it but there is no real emphasis on it since it is considered obsolete. I did some checking and apparently cursive writing is now taught at the individual states discretion. You all know I am new at this, but I'd really like your opinion on this and what you do.

I think it is a lost art and I want to teach my child this when the time comes. Do you teach cursive? Do you think it is an important skill to have or do you agree that it is obsolete?

by on May. 13, 2013 at 9:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tuffymama
by Bronze Member on May. 13, 2013 at 9:57 AM
2 moms liked this
Handwriting is VERY important! Cursive, too. How to bring a strong nation of patriots to its knees? Slowly disarm them, slowly starve them, refuse to teach them their own history, and slowly take away their ability to read and write. I can't believe PS is so boldly rendering students illiterate, one generation at a time. Teach the children to read and write with ease and with joy.
jen2150
by Silver Member on May. 13, 2013 at 10:02 AM