Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

How much importance do you put on handwriting?

Posted by   + Show Post

My sister has her kiddos in public school. One is in K and the other in 2nd grade. The one in K is learning to recognize and write upper and lower case letters. The one in 2nd grade still writes in print but with an emphasis on spacing and sizing of the text. When I asked if he was learning cursive, she told me that they go over it but there is no real emphasis on it since it is considered obsolete. I did some checking and apparently cursive writing is now taught at the individual states discretion. You all know I am new at this, but I'd really like your opinion on this and what you do.

I think it is a lost art and I want to teach my child this when the time comes. Do you teach cursive? Do you think it is an important skill to have or do you agree that it is obsolete?

by on May. 13, 2013 at 9:52 AM
Replies (21-29):
TidewaterClan
by on May. 13, 2013 at 7:56 PM
1 mom liked this

This coming fall will be our first hs year (3rd grade).  In our school they've at least been given the trace papers to work with.  Last year I volunteered to help the first graders and we "wrote" in sand, jello, pudding, paint, then chalkboard & paper for the friction.  The children I worked with really enjoyed the variety and their print was legible at the end of the year. :)

My daughter began cursive this year and we'll continue this fall.  Handwriting uses different sections of the brain than typing, and I want to motivate as much of her cranium as I can. :)

Walnutgrovefarm
by on May. 14, 2013 at 7:55 AM