Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

My homeschool area is done! Picture

Posted by   + Show Post

I figure that since I started so many discussions about what everyones homeschool areas look like, I should probably post mine now that its done! We start next week! :)

by on May. 25, 2013 at 5:24 PM
Replies (21-30):
MammaG08
by Member on May. 27, 2013 at 5:39 PM

So how do you think your education hindered you?  I am sure you have lots of great ideas from your experience.  I'm just curious because I have a teaching degree as well. 

We took these past couple of months and unschooled both of us. He was in a formal preschool and I have 5 years of college in early childhood ed under my belt. It was actually hindering me and not helping me, so we had to take a step back before we even started. I'm glad we did because he has learned a ton from the little bit I have done with him so far. 

maggiemom2000
by Member on May. 27, 2013 at 10:31 PM
2 moms liked this

I'm a teacher as well and I found it was a bit of a learning curve for me to figure out the difference between "school at home" and "homeschooling". So much of what we do as teachers in the classroom is because that is what works with a large group of children.

For example: You teach the lesson and then do the worksheet for practice. Everyone does the worksheet, that way you are sure every child practiced it, and you can score the worksheets and see how everyone did, who needs help, who's ready to move on etc. When my kids would balk at a worksheet I had to stop and ask myself, "WHY do they need to do this worksheet?" I realized that, often, my realization was that they don't need to do it!

Quoting MammaG08:

So how do you think your education hindered you?  I am sure you have lots of great ideas from your experience.  I'm just curious because I have a teaching degree as well.