Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New to Homeschooling

Posted by on Jun. 9, 2013 at 5:04 PM
  • 3 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hello. I'm new to all of this so I'm going to explain what I know and maybe someone can give me advice or words of encouragement lol. My husband and I have decided to pull our son who will be in the 7th grade out of school next year. He got diagnosed with ADHD and disruptive behavior disorder. He is a really bright boy. He tested in the 93rd percentie for math this year on his terra nova tests. The teachers told us they were ready to kick him out of school because he was such a distraction to the other kids and wouldn't listen. We have enrolled him in K-12 because I have no clue what I'm doing to be honest with you. I don't really remember anything specifically about the 7th grade myself. We want him to get a good education and want him to go to college. Our hope was to get his behavior under control so we can send him back because he plays football. He's really good and loves it. We have next year covered with him playing through the city but it's not offered beyond the 7th grade. After that he has to play junior high or not at all. I have told my husband that his education is more important than sports so if we need to keep him home then that's what we have to do. He is already socially awkward so that is another concern for us. He was also getting bullied ALOT in school and they didn't seem all that concerned about it. That really pissed me off. Every teacher I talked to had no clue it was going on. They all said they would let everyone know but it never happened. I do want structure to his day. I want him to get the best education he can. Has anyone been through a similar situation or have a kid similar to mine? I guess any input would be helpful right now.

by on Jun. 9, 2013 at 5:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.