Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Choices choices choices.... Help me decide!;)

Posted by on Jun. 11, 2013 at 11:20 AM
  • 15 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am searching for supplies for the upcoming homeschool year. This year I planned a lot on my own ( I am a teacher by trade) I am looking to purchase for this year though. I live in Connecticut, and these are the required subjects below.

Math: I am torn between math-U-see and Saxon 

Reading: I am all set. I am using leap frog, along with a phonic DVD program.

Spelling: ideas??

English grammar: ideas??

Geography: ideas??

United States history: ideas??

Citizenship: (must include study of town, state & federal government) ideas?? My daughter volunteers at our local non profit community agency. We are also very involved in our community with this organization and our local library. My daughter learns about our state government, and has met our senator, etc. So I think I have town and state covered. Now I need to cover federal government. 

In addition to the required subjects I also teach her bible, foreign language( she picked Spanish for next year), and we do physical education along with health. We also do additional topics for her life skills class such as cooking, etc.

I should add that my daughter is going to be 6 this summer. She would have been entering 1st grade if she were in the school system. 

Any and all help, suggestions, and your experience would be welcomed and appreciated. 

Thank you & God bless

Teach your children to choose the right path, and when they are older, they will remain upon it. ~ Proverbs 22:6

family in the vanbreastfeedingteen girlhave a nice day

by on Jun. 11, 2013 at 11:20 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jun. 11, 2013 at 11:42 AM
1 mom liked this

We like Math U See.  I've not tried Saxon.