Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

PA Homeschoolers, is anyone a certified teacher? I have a question...

Posted by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 3:23 PM
  • 16 Replies

DD is only two but I have been starting with trying to figure out how to homeschool and what to do and I was reading some of the guidelines and one of the homeschooling options is  "Private Tutor". It said the person had to be certified to teach in PA, and I am but it has expired. When I homeschool my DD can I still be considered a private tutor or is that not possible unless I get current certificates? I have two degrees in teaching and I was just wondering how that all factors into what type of homeschooling I will be considered. I am SO new at this, I am just getting started so maybe this is a stupid question but it was something that occurred to me the other day so I figured I'd just ask. Thanks!!

by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 3:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jun. 17, 2013 at 3:56 PM

You cannot be a Private Tutor unless you have a current certificate. 

JTE11
by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 4:11 PM

Thank you!   I guess my next question is how to get a current certificate but I'll have to Google that. Thanks!

Quoting bluerooffarm:

bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jun. 17, 2013 at 4:15 PM

Why do you want to private tutor instead of homeschool?  Is there an advantage?

Quoting JTE11:

Thank you!   I guess my next question is how to get a current certificate but I'll have to Google that. Thanks!

Quoting bluerooffarm:

JTE11
by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 4:25 PM