Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Public School Method Or Home School Methods

Posted by on Jun. 24, 2013 at 9:42 AM
  • 3 Replies
2 moms liked this

The choice is really up to you the educator.  The public school method works just fine for some children, and it is a disaster for others. Some children prefer the Conventional Method (P.S. Method).  My granddaughter is one such child.  She says she likes the structure.   Here on Cafe Mom one will find both both approaches used, and we support you in what ever works for you and your family.

As a tutor, I often get the children whom the public school method is failing.  They are often simply "hands on learners", or active children that are falsely labeled as "problem child", or"ADHD" (not, saying that condition does not exist).  It is so painful to watch what happens to these children who do not respond to the Conventional Method.  They feel like something is wrong with them, or that they are "stupid". They are even called "stupid" by other children,  But it is not them that is wrong, it is  the one size fits all approach in our public schools that is wrong.  Even teachers are against the one size fits all approach they are mandated to use.  College professors complain that too many children now arrive at college able to pass the entrance exams, but unable to do basic math without a calculator, or  read at grade level...and they say it is getting worse.