Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

Question for Homeschoolers!! Need Advice!!

Posted by   + Show Post
I am a certified elementary school teacher with a masters in literacy and a gifted certification. I just recently left public school teaching after 13 years because I strongly disagree about many issues and could no longer be a part. I am very supportive of homeschooling and think it is a very noble thing for parents who are making many sacrifices for their kids!

I am starting a new business tutoring in my community...I am also going to be a resource for homeschool families and groups. I am offering planning assistance, assistance teaching difficult concepts, homework help, substitute teaching, as well as teaching small groups special interest classes, such as art, enrichment, book clubs, listening skills, etc.

Is this something you would want as a homeschoolers? Are there other areas of need homeschooling communities need?? I really appreciate honest feedback!!

Thank you,

Melanie Kross
💫💫🌟🙈👼7⃣
by on Jun. 24, 2013 at 5:32 PM
Replies (11-20):
debramommyof4
by Silver Member on Jun. 24, 2013 at 11:17 PM
1 mom liked this

I can't afford to pay, but special interest classes sound found.  I like to have my kids involved in both class settings and not.  I don't think the others were trying to be rude.  A lot of us have had bad teachers in public school or bad situations. 

Mine was mostly what do you do with a gifted child when no one has room for her and she does not fit socially or emotionally in any of the grades she fits academically.  Oh I know have her be responsible for getting to the correct classes in Kindergarten and have her help teach the other kids.  Her teacher was great just had no clue what to do with her.