Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Question for Homeschoolers!! Need Advice!!

Posted by   + Show Post
I am a certified elementary school teacher with a masters in literacy and a gifted certification. I just recently left public school teaching after 13 years because I strongly disagree about many issues and could no longer be a part. I am very supportive of homeschooling and think it is a very noble thing for parents who are making many sacrifices for their kids!

I am starting a new business tutoring in my community...I am also going to be a resource for homeschool families and groups. I am offering planning assistance, assistance teaching difficult concepts, homework help, substitute teaching, as well as teaching small groups special interest classes, such as art, enrichment, book clubs, listening skills, etc.

Is this something you would want as a homeschoolers? Are there other areas of need homeschooling communities need?? I really appreciate honest feedback!!

Thank you,

Melanie Kross
💫💫🌟🙈👼7⃣
by on Jun. 24, 2013 at 5:32 PM
Replies (31-40):
bluerooffarm
by Gold Member on Jun. 25, 2013 at 3:52 PM
4 moms liked this

At first I wanted them to sit at a desk and learn like I did.  I set up my classroom like a school classroom with a "computer station," a desk for each child, a big whiteboard at the front. 
I felt that I needed a textbook for each class; when in reality there are better methods for teaching vocabulary, phonics, spelling, and grammar than a textbook with kill and drill.  We are now down to 2 desks and 2 computers (for all 4 of us).  We spend most of our time on the couch, the floor, and running around than we do at desks. 
While teaching, Video was a dirty word!!  Now I know that for some learning styles it works very well.