Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Considering Home Schooling - anyone in the High Desert of CA?

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi I am Jacque and as I posted elsewhere - I had never considered homeschooling...

For 10 years I was a public school teacher and then an adjunct professor.  My mother is a retired Kindergarten teacher and for the past 3 years she and I had been working with my now 5 year old with her Pre K materials....I suppose we never really thought about what might happen if she ends up moving beyond K 1 and 1st grade materials - and yet not even be old enough to start K 1.

And now here we are....starting kindergarten in a school ranked 1 of 10, which means 9 other schools did better.  Having been a teacher I have a pretty good idea what can happen to an advanced kid with a lot of energy, if not nurtured correctly. And I am terrified her passion for learning will be smashed before she has developed the maturity work around this obstacle. 

And yet - I am worried about her getting the socialization and making the friends she needs for age appropriate development.  Which brings me to my final point - if there are home schoolers in the High Desert / Hesperia area please let me know.

blowing kisses

by on Jun. 29, 2013 at 8:13 PM
Replies (11-16):
Sweetrose664
by on Aug. 14, 2013 at 10:04 PM

We are homeschooling and live in Victorville. Our daughter is pre-K and is almost 5 and our son is almost 3. We will be trying the homeschool program through Galileo Elementry http://galileo.vesd.net/independent_study_two-day_program.html

AngRgls
by New Member on Feb. 26, 2015 at 7:35 PM
I am looking for playmates for my 4 year old son. We live in AV and I homeschool. Anyone want to meet up for park days or anything just let me know. Thanks.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Jinx-Troublex3
by Jinx on Feb. 27, 2015 at 12:24 AM