Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Homeschooling Moms Homeschooling Moms

What is your reason...

Posted by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
  • 45 Replies
I am a mom of 2 dd and live in nj. Before kids i was a teacher public school teacher in NY. Funny thing is that I do not think I could ever teach my own children!!

We do not home school. We don't know anyone who does as I do not think it is common practice where I live.

So, I was wondering what are your reason for homeschooling?
by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mem82
by Platinum Member on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:29 AM
We have several reasons but here are a few:
1. PS wasn't a good fit for my oldest. She needed to move faster than the school allowed. Also, they wanted to keep her in her failing class to pull up the average test scores. I think a lot of that was the teacher, though. My dd was getting bored and she was getting stressed out by the bad behavior of the rest of the class. She likes order in all things.
2. My husband worked mostly 2nd so she never saw him. Homeschooling allows for a great quantity of family time. We had kids to see and enjoy them, not only have a few hurried hours in the evening.
3. It feels unnatural to our family unit to not be together the majority of time.
4.The kids can explore their interests. They can learn the way they need to learn. They can move at their own pace and they can do it in half the ps day.
That is the short list since I'm on my phone I can't really go into our choices too much. Maybe homeschooling is something you might want to try?
Rust.n.Gears
by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:49 AM
1 mom liked this
1. Violence in our public schools
2. Neglect from school officials
3. Lack of education in public school
4. Lack of morals and ethics
RheaF
by Member on Jul. 1, 2013 at 9:00 AM
1 mom liked this