Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am a mom of 2 dd and live in nj. Before kids i was a teacher public school teacher in NY. Funny thing is that I do not think I could ever teach my own children!!

We do not home school. We don't know anyone who does as I do not think it is common practice where I live.

So, I was wondering what are your reason for homeschooling?
by on Jul. 1, 2013 at 8:04 AM
Replies (11-20):
hwblyf
by Bronze Member on Jul. 1, 2013 at 10:41 AM

I homeschool our oldest because he needs more than they could ever give and it was beyond a negative experience by this winter.  You would think I'd have recognized it earlier, but this was not a natural thing for me.  I have 3 others in ps and my youngest is at home (he's 4).  I've always "homeschooled" my kids for preschool.  I put that in quotes because I don't really believe they need education that young, just experiences and materials.  We did actively teach colors and such, though less and less by the time the 5th came around and my oldest was not yet 6.

NYCitymomx3
by Bronze Member on Jul. 1, 2013 at 11:10 AM
2 moms liked this

My gifted, precocious dd's love of learning was squelched in school.  She was bored and fidgety and one teacher was sure she had ADHD (she doesn't).  She tested into a gifted academy, but seemed to be just going through the motions.  I researched other options and homeschooling piqued my interest.  I let her make the final decision.  She homeschooled from 3rd to 8th grade and now goes to a specialized performing arts high school in NYC.